Desafio Internacional das Estrelas 2014 Entry List

The entry list for Felipe Massa’s annual karting event Desafio Internacional das Estrelas has been revealed. The event, who’s name translates as International Challenge of the Stars, has been running since 2005, when Brazilian Stock Car driver Daniel Serra took the first overall win. It has since been won by Felipe Massa, Michael Schumacher, Rubens Barrichello, Lucas di Grassi, and Jaime Alguersuari have subsequently won it. Jules Bianchi beat Felipe Nasr to last year’s title.

Points are awarded to the top 15 finishers in each race, with there being two races. The winner is awarded 25 points, with second place given 20 and third 16. For the rest of the field points are awarded as follows:

13, 11, 10, 9, 8, 7, 6, 5, 4, 3, 2, 1

The pole sitter for race one also gains two bonus points.

This year’s event will take place this weekend (11th and 12th of January) at Karting Beto Carrero in Penha. 26 competitors will take place, including a number of Formula One drivers past and present:

  • Felipe Massa (Brazilian – F1)
  • Jules Bianchi (French – F1)
  • Sebastien Buemi (Swiss – WEC)
  • Vitantonio Liuzzi (Italian – Superstars Series)
  • Felipe Nasr (Brazilian – GP2)
  • Lucas di Grassi (Brazilian – WEC)
  • Bruno Senna (Brazilian – WEC)
  • Bia Figueriredo (Brazilian – Indy Car)
  • João Paulo de Oliveira (Brazilian – Super GT)
  • Nelson Piquet Jr (Brazilian – NASCAR)
  • Augusto Farfus Jr (Brazilian – TMD)
  • Pietro Fittipaldi (Brazilian – F4)
  • Rubens Barrichello (Brazlian – Stock Car)
  • Popo Bueno (Brazilian – Stock Car)
  • Luciano Burti (Brazilian – Stock Car)
  • Ricardo Zonta (Brazilian – Stock Car)
  • Antonio Pizzonia (Brazilian – Stock Car)
  • Allam Khodair (Brazilian – Stock Car)
  • Daniel Serra (Brazilian – Stock Car)
  • Valdeno Brito (Brazilian – Stock Car)
  • Julio Campos (Brazilian – Stock Car)
  • Ricardo Mauricio (Brazilian – Stock Car)
  • Luis Razia (Brazilian – GT Open)
  • Felipe Giaffone (Brazilian  – F Truck)
  • Beto Monteiro (Brazilian – F Truck)

Massa, di Grassi and Pizzonia have competed every year since the event’s conception in 2005.


One thought on “Desafio Internacional das Estrelas 2014 Entry List

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s