2014: Force India officially uncover VJM07 in Jerez

Having previously just been shown via a rendered image, Force India have officially uncovered their car in the Jerez pit-lane.

Unveiled by Sergio Perez, Nico Hulkenberg and Daniel Juncadella, the VJM06 features a striking new livery and a nose similar to that of Toro Rosso and Williams. Force India features an all new line-up for 2014, albeit with one driver they have worked with before.

“I’m happy where I am: I fit in well here and I know the team,” Nico Hulkenberg revealed, having returned to the team after a year away with Sauber. “I’m very comfortable and looking forward to the coming weeks and months. I have the same race engineer and lots of the same mechanics, so that’s going to help. It will make the transition and bedding-in time shorter!”

Revealing his hopes for the year ahead, Hulkenberg is looking for a competitive car. “I hope I can deliver good results, just like I did at the end of 2013. It’s really hard to define and set the targets with so many question marks in the game. Obviously we want to do well, we want to score a lot of points and I think maximising our package and our performance is the main target for now”.

Perez has similar view about the season ahead. “I’m very excited,” he revealed. “I’m joining a new team at a time when Formula One is entering an exciting new era, so I think that gives us a good chance of doing well. It will be very important that we work very hard during winter testing to understand how everything works and how we are going to get the best out of the package that we have. I think that’s the most important target for the testing.”


“I find the team very hungry for success,” he continued. “They’ve had some good years in the past, but they are looking to move forward and fight against the top teams. I think this year is the biggest opportunity to do that!”

Perez is running with the car today before handing over to Hulkenberg tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

