Ian Lougher wins Bennetts 500cc Classic TT race

Ian Lougher has won the Bennetts 500cc race at the 2014 Classic TT. He survived a race of attrition which saw John McGuinness, Ryan Farquhar and Michael Rutter all retire from the lead of the race. Other retirements included Michael and William Dunlop, with the latter not getting further than Ballacraine on his first lap. 

Leading the pack away from number one, McGuinness initially built up a lead but failed to finish the first lap and it was team-mate Farquhar who led by the end of lap one. He was ahead of Lougher and Dan Cooper and the first two chose to pit at the end of lap one. Lougher then incurred a 30 second penalty after speeding in the pit-lane. While those two were pitting, Cooper eased into the lead but it was soon Rutter who became the lead rider. Both Farquhar and Rutter retired in lap three allowing Cooper back into the lead.

Lougher took the lead on lap four after a charge and he finished the race over 34 seconds clear of Cooper. In third place was Bruce Anstey who had enjoyed a battle with Michael Dunlop through the race until the Ballymoney man retired from the race. In an impressive fourth place was Connor Behan ahead of Maria Costello, Mick Godfrey, and David Madsen-Mygdal. Mark Parrett finished ahead of 64 year old Charlie Williams, who was making his first competitive appearance on the mountain course since 1984. Peter Boast rounded out the top then. 



2 thoughts on “Ian Lougher wins Bennetts 500cc Classic TT race

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s