Macau Motorcycle GP entry list confirmed

The entry list for the 2014 Suncity Group Macau Grand Prix has been confirmed.

The list features a number of road racing’s biggest names including John McGuinness, Michael Rutter and Michael Dunlop. They will be joined by Ian Hutchinson, Gary Johnson, Jamie Hamilton and Horst Saiger amongst others. Three times winner Stuart Easton will also be in attendance along with Jimmy Storrar, Jeremy Toye, Martin Jessopp, Didier Grams, Lee Johnston and Stephen Thompson who all finished in the top ten last year.

The 2013 Macau Grand Prix saw Hutchinson make a triumphant return to road racing. After pipping the most experienced man at Macau – Rutter – to pole position by just 0.05s Hutchinson went on to beat him by nearly two and a half seconds. The gap back to Johnson in third was 8.7 seconds while McGuinness brought it home in fourth place albeit 23 seconds off the winner. This year will see Rutter swap to the Milwaukee Yamaha which brought Hutchinson success last year as he looks for his ninth victory, while Hutchinson himself will join Easton on Paul Bird Motorsport Kawasakis. Joining the stellar line-up at Macau this year will be impressive road racing newcomer Peter Hickman along with Michael Sweeney who will ride for John Burrows’ team. Hickman – who was the fastest newcomer at this year’s North West 200 and Isle of Man TT – will ride once again for Paul Shoesmith who will also be riding. Sweeney joins a recovering Dan Kneen on the entry list although the Manxman – who has impressed on the roads this year and took his first international victory at the Ulster Grand Prix – is still recovering from foot injuries sustained at the UGP.

Dunlop is returning to the race following his debut in 2011 where he finished in 12th position, this time riding a BMW. He is another rider who has enjoyed a stellar year on the roads with victories at the North West 200 and Isle of Man TT. Dean Harrison – who was involved in the same accident as Kneen – is also returning following his debut in 2013 where he failed to finish the race. Also on the entry list are Roman Stamm, Tiago Magalhaes, Mark Miller, Steve Mercer, Nuno Caetano, Marc Fissette, Dan Cooper, Steve Henegan,  AJ Venter, Davy Morgan, Graham English and Brandon Cretu.

With an impressive line-up it has potential to be a thrilling event. The Macau GP takes place 13th – 16th November.


One thought on “Macau Motorcycle GP entry list confirmed

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s