Suncity Group Macau Motorcycle Grand Prix Preview

The 48th edition of the Macau Motorcycle Grand Prix will take place on Saturday. The entry list is headed by 2013 winner Ian Hutchinson and features the likes of eight time Macau winner Michael Rutter, previous winner John McGuinness, and the TT and North West 200’s fastest newcomer Peter Hickman. The race marks the end of the road racing season and all riders taking part will be hoping to go out on a high.


(local time)

Thursday 13th November

Practice (8am – 9am)
Qualifying (3.55pm – 4.40pm)

Friday 14th November

Qualifying (7.30am – 8.15am)

Saturday 15th November

Warm-up (7.30am – 7.50am)
Race – 12 laps (3.30pm – 4.30pm)

The original entry list was published back in October but there have been some changes since then. Michael Dunlop – who has split with BMW – will be absent as will Dean Harrison and Dan Kneen who are still recovering from injuries picked up at the Ulster Grand Prix. The new entry list is as follows:

1. Ian Hutchinson – PBM by The Venetian Hotel – Kawasaki
2. Michael Rutter – Milwaukee Yamaha – Yamaha
3. Horst Saiger – – Yamaha
4. John McGuinness – Lee Hardy Racing – Honda
5. Stuart Easton – PBM by The Venetian Hotel – Kawasaki
7. Gary Johnson – Quattro Plant/Monex Europe Racing – Honda
8. Roman Stamm – Team Bolliger Switzerland – Kawasaki
9. James McBride – JV Racing – Yamaha
10. Mark Miller – Splitlath Motorsports – EBR
11. Paul Shoesmith – Ice Valley by Motorsave Trade Racing – BMW
12. Sandor Bitter – VRS Racing – Honda
13. Steve Mercer – BMW Motorrad – BMW
14. Andre Pires – CF32/Maco Racing Team – Yamaha
15. Jimmy Storrar – DMR Racing – BMW
18. Nuno Caetano – FMP Team Portugal – Kawasaki
19. Marc Fissette – – Suzuki
20. Dan Cooper – DMR Racing – BMW
22. Stephen Thompson – BMW Motorrad – BMW
26. Didier Grams – – BMW
31. Dan Kruger – Titanic Kawasaki by – Kawasaki
40. Martin Jessopp – Riders Motorcycles BMW – BMW
44. Jamie Hamilton – Wilson Craig Racing – Honda
54. Steve Heneghan – Quattro Plant/Monex Europe Racing – Kawasaki
60. Peter Hickman – Ice Valley by Motorsave Trade Racing – BMW
62. Allan-Jon Venter – CF32/Maco Racing Team – Yamaha
65. Michael Sweeney – Burrows Engineering Racing – Kawasaki
69. Lee Johnston – East Coast Construction/Pirtek Racing – Honda
71. Davy Morgan – CMS Racing – Honda
83. Graham English – TIVA Engineering Ltd – BMW
88. Brandon Cretu – Splitlath Motorsports – EBR
111. Brian McCormack – Burrows Engineering Racing – Suzuki

Last year Ian Hutchinson beat Michael Rutter to pole by just five hundredths of a second. He then went on to win the race, ahead of Rutter and Gary Johnson. The win was significant for Hutchinson as it marked a return to competitive racing following an 18 month recovery period after an accident. Joining the riders who have experienced Macau before are newcomers Peter Hickman and Michael Sweeney. Hickman – who was fastest newcomer at the Isle of Man TT and North West 200 earlier this year – is once again riding for Paul Shoesmith’s Ice Valley team, who will also be racing. Shoesmith has raced at Macau before and finished 17th in last year’s race.

Sweeney will be racing for Burrows Engineering Racing alongside late entrant Brian McCormack, who made his debut last year. He is replacing a recovering Dan Kneen, who recently announced that he will be joining forces with Millsport Suzuki in 2015. Other replacements for names on the original entry list are newcomer Dan Kruger – riding a Kawasaki – and James McBride who made his debut back in 2003. They were added to the list following the withdrawal of Michael Dunlop and Tiago Magalhaes.  Three time winner Stuart Easton makes his return to the race, having dominated between 2008 and 2010. The action commences tomorrow with practice and qualifying.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s