Guy Martin to contest Isle of Man TT Supersport class on Smiths Triumph

Guy Martin will ride the Smiths 675cc Triumph Daytona at this year’s Isle of Man TT in the Supersport class, it has been revealed.

Martin, who races for the Tyco BMW team, had been without machinery for the Supersport class but a phone-call soon sorted that out. “I wanted the best tool for the job in the Supersport TTs so I rang Rebecca [Smith] and we ended up doing a deal,” he revealed. “I reckon the Triumph is the bike to be on and I remember Gary Johnson passing me on the Sulby Straight on the Smiths Triumph last year. Alan [Smith] and Rebecca are proper people who run a fantastic team and to win on their debut last year says a lot about them. I’m planning a few jobs with the Triumph after the TT also so I’m looking forward to getting the job sorted.”

It was Gary Johnson who won for the team in the opening Superstock race in 2014, beating Bruce Anstey and Michael Dunlop. He will be riding for GBMoto this year as the British Superbike team make their debut on the roads.

Martin will be joined at Smiths Racing by David Johnson who will spearhead the team’s assault on the TT, riding BMW and Triumph machinery. The Australian rider made his Isle of Man TT debut in 2010 and finished fourth in last year’s Superstock race. He will ride a Smiths BMW in the Superbike, Senior and Superstock classes and will join Martin on the 675cc Triumph Daytona in the Supersport races. “I’m so happy that Rebecca and Alan Smith have chosen me to ride for them at TT 2015,” Johnson said. “This will be my fifth visit to the TT and after a decent year last year on the Island, I feel it’s my time to be on machinery which is capable of being at the sharp end in every race. The Smith family and the whole team are all close friends of mine and have the expertise, skills and resources to build extremely competitive bikes so I think we have the complete package.”

“I’m also happy to have a team-mate like Guy Martin for the Supersport TTs,” he continued. “I’m sure we’ll work really well together. I’m so grateful for this opportunity and I will do everything I can to get the best out of myself and to get the best results I possibly can for the whole Smiths team.”

2 thoughts on “Guy Martin to contest Isle of Man TT Supersport class on Smiths Triumph”

Leave a Reply

