2015: Formula One Fact-File

On the eve of the first practice session of the 2015 season here is The H Duct’s annual Formula One Fact-File.

Teams and Drivers

Remaining with 2014 teams: Lewis Hamilton, Nico Rosberg, Daniel Ricciardo, Valtteri Bottas, Felipe Massa, Kimi Raikkonen, Jenson Button, Nico Hulkenberg, Sergio Perez, Pastor Maldonado, and Romain Grosjean (11/20)

Moving to a new team for 2015: Daniil Kvyat, Sebastian Vettel, Fernando Alonso, Marcus Ericsson, and Will Stevens (5/20)

Returning to a former team: N/A

Rookies: Carlos Sainz, Max Verstappen, Felipe Nasr, and Roberto Merhi (4/20)

Returning to Formula One: N/A

Who’s missing?: Adrian Sutil (2015 plans not yet confirmed, has been linked to WEC), Esteban Gutierrez (test and reserve driver for Ferrari), Jean-Eric Vergne (test and reserve driver for Ferrari – in particular simulator work; Formula E driver for Andretti Autosport), Jules Bianchi (remains in a coma in France following his accident at the Japanese Grand Prix), Max Chilton (driving in WEC for Nissan Motorsport), and Kamui Kobayashi (Team LeMans driver in Super Formula).

Statistic pages for all 20 drivers are available.


No significant race milestones in 2015.

Nico Rosberg and Toro Rosso are both entering their 10th season in the sport.

(Ages specified are correct as of 12th March 2015)

Oldest driver: Kimi Raikkonen (35 years 4 months 23 days)
Youngest driver: Max Verstappen (17 years 5 months 10 days)
Oldest driver pairing: McLaren (63 years 9 months 1 day)
Youngest driver pairing: Toro Rosso (37 years 11 months 21 days)

Driver Ages 1 Driver Ages 2

*When drivers ages were added together, a month was taken as 31 days

(in terms of races entered)

Most experienced driver: Jenson Button (268 races)
Least experienced driver: Felipe Nasr, Roberto Merhi, Max Verstappen, Carlos Sainz Jr (0 races – rookies)
Least experienced driver (excluding rookies): Will Stevens (1 race)
Most experienced driver pairing: McLaren (504 races)
Least experienced driver pairing: Toro Rosso (0 races)

  • Jenson Button – 268 races entered – debut in 2000
  • Fernando Alonso – 236 races entered – debut in 2001
  • Kimi Raikkonen – 213 races entered – debut in 2001
  • Felipe Massa – 212 races entered – debut in 2002
  • Nico Rosberg – 166 races entered – debut in 2006
  • Lewis Hamilton – 148 races entered – debut in 2007
  • Sebastian Vettel – 139 races entered – debut in 2007
  • Sergio Perez – 77 races entered – debut in 2011
  • Nico Hulkenberg – 77 races entered – debut in 2010
  • Pastor Maldonado – 77 races entered – debut in 2011
  • Daniel Ricciardo – 69 races entered – debut in 2011
  • Romain Grosjean – 64 races entered – debut in 2009
  • Valtteri Bottas – 38 races entered – debut in 2013
  • Daniil Kvyat – 19 races entered – debut in 2014
  • Marcus Ericsson – 16 races entered – debut in 2014
  • Will Stevens – 1 race entered – debut in 2014
  • Felipe Nasr – 0 races entered – debut in 2015
  • Max Verstappen – 0 races entered – debut in 2015
  • Carlos Sainz Jr – 0 races entered – debut in 2015
  • Roberto Merhi – 0 races entered – debut in 2015
  • McLaren – Jenson Button & Fernando Alonso – 504 races entered
  • Ferrari – Kimi Raikkonen & Sebastian Vettel – 352 races entered
  • Mercedes – Nico Rosberg & Lewis Hamilton – 314 races entered
  • Williams – Felipe Massa & Valtteri Bottas – 250 races entered
  • Force India – Sergio Perez & Nico Hulkenberg – 154 races entered
  • Lotus – Romain Grosjean & Pastor Maldonado – 141 races entered
  • Red Bull – Daniel Ricciardo & Daniil Kvyat – 88 races entered
  • Sauber – Marcus Ericsson & Felipe Nasr – 16 races entered
  • Manor – Will Stevens & Roberto Merhi – 1 race entered
  • Toro Rosso – Max Verstappen & Carlos Sainz Jr – 0 races entered


There are four rookies on the 2015 grid but who are they and where did they come from?

Felipe Nasr – Sauber: 22 year old Brazilian driver Felipe Nasr was 3rd in the GP2 championship last year. He made his single seater debut in 2008 in Formula BMW, winning the European championship in 2009. He also won the British Formula 3 championship in 2011 before stepping up to GP2 in 2012.

Max Verstappen – Toro Rosso: Max Verstappen is the son of former Grand Prix driver Jos Verstappen and is set to become the youngest rookie in Formula One history when he takes part in the Australian Grand Prix. He only made his single seater debut last year after a successful time in karting. He finished third in the Formula 3 championship and made a successful test debut for Toro Rosso last year.

Carlos Sainz Jr – Toro Rosso: Another son of a racing driver, Carlos Sainz Jr has been part of the Red Bull Junior Team for a number of years. He won the Formula Renault 3.5 championship last year and in the past has also won the Formula Renault 2.0 title. He had been in the running for the Toro Rosso seat in 2014 but lost out to Daniil Kvyat. When Vettel made the move to Ferrari, and Kvyat was promoted, it left an opening for Sainz at Toro Rosso.

Roberto Merhi – Manor:  A late addition to the 2015 grid, Roberto Merhi is another Formula Renault 3.5 graduate. He finished third in the 2014 championship having won the Formula 3 Euro Series title the year before. He had a brief stint in DTM in 2012 and 2013 before returning to single seaters the following year. Manor only recently confirmed their return to Formula One and Merhi was announced on the week of the first race.

Engine Suppliers

Mercedes: Mercedes/Williams/Force India/Lotus*
Ferrari: Ferrari/Sauber/Manor**
Renault: Red Bull/Toro Rosso*
Honda: McLaren*

* new partnership for 2015
** 2014 engines


The 2015 season will run from 15th March to the 29th November, starting in Australia and ending in Abu Dhabi. On their trip around the world the paddock will visit 20 countries.

The Mexican Grand Prix is a new addition to the calendar.


Mercedes were a dominant force last season, winning 16 of 19 races and taking pole position at 18 out of 19 races. Lewis Hamilton was the eventual champion after beating team-mate Nico Rosberg.

Daniel Ricciardo was the only other driver to win a race last year. Other drivers to feature on the podium were Valtteri Bottas, Sebastian Vettel, Felipe Massa, Fernando Alonso, Kevin Magnussen, Jenson Button, and Sergio Perez. Mercedes and Red Bull both had 32 points finishes. Marussia picked up their first ever points when Jules Bianchi finished ninth at the Monaco Grand Prix.

Technical and Sporting Regulations


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s