Nico Rosberg continues at top of times in Australia

FP2 was a more dramatic session than FP1 had been but the Mercedes duo of Nico Rosberg and Lewis Hamilton remained at the top of the time sheets.

After sitting out the morning session Felipe Nasr and Marcus Ericsson both eventually got out in the Sauber, however Manor still did not make an appearance. Also sitting out the session were Williams’ Felipe Massa due to a water leak on his car and Red Bull’s Daniel Ricciardo due to his engine needing replaced.

After their nearest rivals finished over a second behind them in the first practice session, Ferrari managed to close the gap when they put the soft compound tyre on.  Sebastian Vettel was the lead Ferrari driver and his 1:28.412 was eight tenths off the pace. He finished just ahead of team-mate Kimi Raikkonen, who in turn was four tenths faster than fellow Finn Valtteri Bottas. Daniil Kvyat was the sole Red Bull driver in second practice as Daniel Ricciardo’s running was compromised by an engine change.

Carlos Sainz continued his strong form from the morning session to remain in the top ten while Pastor Maldonado, Romain Grosjean, and Nico Hulkenberg rounded it out. Nasr ended up 11th after completing 33 laps but team-mate Ericsson completed just 14 laps before suffering rear suspension damage due to heavy contact with a kerb. Also in the wars was Kevin Magnussen who crashed early on the in the session leaving him at the bottom of the times with just four laps to his name.

Jenson Button had a more positive afternoon than he had morning but complained of power loss. He was just behind Force India’s Sergio Perez and ahead of Max Verstappen.

Free Practice Two times:

  1. Nico Rosberg – Mercedes – 1:27.697 – 29 laps
  2. Lewis Hamilton – Mercedes – 1:27.797 – 25 laps
  3. Sebastian Vettel – Ferrari – 1:28.412 – 33 laps
  4. Kimi Raikkonen – Ferrari – 1:28.842 – 33 laps
  5. Valtteri Bottas – Williams – 1:29.265 – 32 laps
  6. Daniil Kvyat – Red Bull – 1:30.016 – 27 laps
  7. Carlos Sainz – Toro Rosso – 1:30.071 – 41 laps
  8. Pastor Maldonado – Lotus – 1:30.104 – 11 laps
  9. Romain Grosjean – Lotus – 1:30.205 – 37 laps
  10. Nico Hulkenberg – Force India – 1:30.473 – 30 laps
  11. Felipe Nasr – Sauber – 1:30.755 – 33 laps
  12. Sergio Perez – Force India – 1:30.980 – 32 laps
  13. Jenson Button – McLaren – 1:31.387 – 21 laps
  14. Max Verstappen – Toro Rosso – 1:31.395 – 6 laps
  15. Marcus Ericsson – Sauber – 1:32.303 – 14 laps
  16. Kevin Magnussen – McLaren – 1:33.289 – 4 laps

One thought on “Nico Rosberg continues at top of times in Australia

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s