Jamie Hamilton & Derek Sheils amongst Kirkistown winners

Following the action at Bishopscourt on Saturday, the Irish short circuit championship continued at Kirkistown on Monday.

Derek Sheils – who won the Enkalon Trophy on Saturday – was awarded the Mayor’s Trophy following his win in the second Superbike race of the day. Fellow road racer Jamie Hamilton – who was out in action for his new team Cookstown BE Engineering – won the opening Superbike race beating Stephen Thompson and Alistair Kirk. He had to settle for second place in the Mayor’s Trophy race when Sheils won having failed to finish race one. Kirk was once again on the podium.

Hamilton also enjoyed success in the Supertwin class beating Christian Elkin and Dave Butler. In the same race Luke Hazlett was victorious in the Stock twin class, finishing ahead of Craig Ringland and Jonny Hamill. William Dunlop recovered from an off in the first Supersport race to win the second with Robert English and Korie McGreevy also on the podium. English won the first Supersport race with Jason Lynn second and Christian Elkin third.

Elsewhere Eugene McManus, Jack Waring, and Jordan Burrows were victorious in the 125cc/250cc classes respectively. Cahal Graham won the Moto 3 class while Karl Dickey won the Lightweights. Following his wins on Saturday, Alvin Griffin won the F1 Era Superbike race as Robert McMurran was victorious in the Superbike Cup. Michael Rea won the Supersport Cup race. Peter O’Neill and passenger Jack Galligan took the spoils in the Sidecar race.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s