Ian Hutchinson doubles up with Superstock victory

It seems wins at the TT are like buses for Ian Hutchinson – having won yesterday’s first Supersport race, he went on to win today’s Superstock race by 17 seconds from Michael Dunlop. Hutchinson also smashed the race record by 32 seconds while the next three riders also broke it.

Dunlop was the early leader, setting off at a fair pelt and leading James Hillier by just over a second on corrected time by Glen Helen. James Hillier was in second place – catching the number one rider John McGuinness on the road – while Hutchinson was third. By the end of the first lap, Dunlop had built up his lead to 1.5 seconds over Hutchinson with Tyco BMW’s Guy Martin moving up to third.

It was another frustrating afternoon for Martin as yet another pit issue cost him valuable time and the chance of a podium. After looking in fine form for the first two laps he encountered problems in the pits when he struggled to get the bike started again following his stop. Yesterday he was penalised 30 seconds for exceeding the pit lane time while today he lost more time through no fault of his own. Martin’s team-mate William Dunlop was missing from the race having been ruled out following an accident during yesterday’s practice lap.

Pit stops came at the end of the second lap and at the start of the third lap it was Hutchinson who led and he just pulled away from Dunlop, who was no doubt feeling a bit sore after his accident in Sunday’s Superbike race. Hutchinson continued to pull away and he stormed to another impressive victory, joined on the podium by Dunlop. Lee Johnston was a last minute addition to the podium when he reeled in Hillier on corrected time and got ahead after Cronk-ny-mona, beating Hillier by just a few tenths of a second. The General also completed his first 130mph lap.

Behind Johnston, Hillier had to settle for fourth with Peter Hickman a very impressive fifth place – increasing his fastest lap around the course to 129.954, very narrowly missing out on joining the 130 Club. Australian rider David Johnson was sixth with Martin eventually taking seventh after his misfortunes. McGuinness was eighth with Bruce Anstey and Conor Cummins rounding out the top ten.

As well as a number of non starters – including William Dunlop, Keith Amor, and Adam Child – there were a number of retirements through the race. Derek Sheils and Andy Soar retired on the first lap, while Ryan Farquhar and Dan Stewart became pit-lane retirements. Gary Johnson pulled off at Parliament Square.

The racing continues tomorrow when the Supersport machines will be in action once again, along with TT Zero and the Sidecars for the second time. Hutchinson won yesterday’s Supersport race while the Birchall brothers took victory in the first Sidecar race. Guy Martin will make his TT Zero debut, subsidising for his injured team-mate on the Victory machine.


2 thoughts on “Ian Hutchinson doubles up with Superstock victory

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s