John McGuinness breaks lap record on way to 23rd TT victory

The Senior TT race at this year’s Isle of Man TT belonged to John McGuinness as he notched up his 23rd win. It was also his seventh win in the Senior TT class, drawing him level with Mike Hailwood.

The original six lap race was red flagged following an accident involving Jamie Hamilton. The BE Racing rider was taken by airmed to Noble’s Hospital with his injuries reported to be serious but not life threatening. Prior to the stoppage, Ian Hutchinson had been leading by two seconds from McGuinness, Michael Dunlop, Bruce Anstey and Guy Martin. Dean Harrison was an early retirement – another disappointment for the Mar-Train Yamaha rider.

Harrison was able to take the restart of the shortened race. Hillier took the lead at Glen Helen by just eight tenths of a second on corrected time, with McGuinness second and Hutchinson third. By Bungalow McGuinness was ahead and extending his lead over Hutchinson and Hillier. On the first lap Peter Hickman – who was the fastest ever newcomer on his debut last year – joined the 130mph club with a 130.511mph lap, increasing his record to 131.626mph on the second lap. At the front the lap record was falling as McGuinness completed a lap of 132.701mph with Martin also breaking it with a 132.398mph. By the start of the third lap McGuinness had a 12 second advantage after the pit-stops. His lead only increased going up to 17.5 seconds over Hillier who had moved into second.

After a fast second lap, Martin eventually had to settle for fourth after failing to close the time gap to Hutchinson. Despite being injured, Dunlop completed a 132.515mph lap on his final tour of the Mountain Course to secure fifth. Conor Cummins was sixth with Peter Hickman seventh, Anstey eighth, David Johnson ninth, and Michael Rutter tenth. Dean Harrison completed a 130mph lap on his way to eleventh, after coming back from his earlier problems.

As well as equalling Hailwood’s record of seven Senior TT wins, and breaking the lap record, McGuinness also completed the fastest ever lap from a standing start – a 131.850mph.


One thought on “John McGuinness breaks lap record on way to 23rd TT victory

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s