Guy Martin retains Solo Championship at Southern 100 for third year running

Guy Martin has won the Solo Championship race at the Southern 100 for the third consecutive year.

The Tyco BMW rider took victory in the Senior race beating Michael Dunlop by just under a tenth of a second with Dean Harrison – who won five races at last year’s event – coming home in third ahead of Dan Kneen. Ivan Lintin, James Cowton, and Jamie Coward were fifth, sixth and seventh respectively ahead of Billy Redmayne, Anthony Redmond and Michael Russell. He then went on to win the Solo Championship race beating Kneen and Lintin. Dunlop had been running in third place but crashed out, leaving it to Martin and Kneen to battle it out for the race win. In the end Martin’s winning advantage over the Padgetts rider was just seven tenths of a second. Behind the top three Russ Mountford was fourth ahead of Cowton, Coward, Mark Goodings, Redmayne, Mark Parrett and Russell.

TT winner Lintin beat Cowton to victory in the first Supertwins race while Coward rounded out the podium finishers. Also in the top ten of the race were Russell, Andrew Dudgeon, Redmond, Dave Moffitt, Dean Osborne, Seamus Elliott, and Callum Laidlaw. Elliott then went on to take the win in the Supersport race. Harrison had been leading the race but when he retired on the final lap, it was Elliott who was in the right place at the right time to take advantage and secure the victory, holding off Mountford and Kneen. It has since been confirmed that Elliott will ride for the Wilson Craig team at the upcoming Armoy Road Races. The top four riders – which also featured Lintin – were separated by under five seconds as they crossed the line. Coward was fifth, ahead of Redmayne, Joe Newbould, Dudgeon, Rob Hodson and Paul Smyth. Lintin doubled up with a win in the second Supertwin race, again flanked by Cowton and Coward.

Having retired from the first Supersport race while leading, Harrison secured victory in the second race beating Lintin and Kneen. Cowton was fourth ahead of race one winner Elliott. Mountford, Redmayne, Newbould, and Hodson were sixth, seventh, eighth, and ninth respectively while Dudgeon rounded out the top ten. The Supersport B race was comfortably won by Davy Morgan with Jonathan Howarth and Brad Vicars in second and third.

The 600/1000cc race was red flagged after just one lap on its initial run and it had been Martin who had been leading. In the re-run race it was Dunlop who took the victory but by the narrowest of margins, ahead of Martin and with Harrison finishing in third. Kneen was fourth ahead of Lintin, Mountford, Coward, Goodings, Elliott and Cowton. Alistair Haworth comfortably beat Adrian Kershaw in the 125/400cc race with Dave Corlett in third. Paul Robinson was fourth ahead of Paul Smyth and Mark Goodings, while Dave Taylor, Scott Miller, Tony Limer and Tom Snow rounded out the top ten.

It wasn’t just solo riders in action at the Billown circuit as Sidecars also took to the track. Their first race was won by Tim Reeves with passenger Mark Wilkes. They finished ahead of Ian and Carl Bell in second with John Holden and Dan Sayle coming home in third. Reeves and Wilkes then took victory in the Championship race, this time with Holden and Sayle second and Ian and Carl Bell third.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s