William Dunlop doubles up at Walderstown

William Dunlop took two wins at the weekend when he won both the Supersport and Grand Final races at Walderstown.

In the Supersport race Dunlop beat Seamus Elliott – who won the corresponding race at last week’s Southern 100 – by just over two seconds, with Derek McGee coming home in third. Derek Sheils was fourth ahead of Connor Behan, John Walsh, Andy Farrell, Graham Kennedy, Thomas Maxwell, and Ryan Maher.

It was McGee who took victory in the Supertwins race by nine hundredths of a second over Behan. Farrell took third ahead of Maria Costello, Alan Kenny, David Lumsden, Mark Sheils, Paul Gartland, James Chawke and Noel Bertram. Sean Connolly won the non championship Supertwins race, beating Martin Currams and Donnchadh Healy to the chequered flag. Elsewhere David Howard won the 400cc Championship race ahead of Elliott and Gartland. Howard’s winning advantage was three tenths of a second.

Brian Coomey won the 201cc-400cc Non Championship race ahead of Chawke and Bertram while Martin Currams won the B race. Healy was second and Thomas McEvoy came home in third. Kevin Fitzpatrick took victory in the Senior Support championship race beating Seanie Smith and Dean Campbell. Fitzpatrick also won the B race this time beating Timmy Elwood and Dean Campbell. Barry Davidson secured the win in the 250cc – 350cc Classic race by over seven seconds from Sean Leonard and Herbie Ronan. Robert McCrum won the 500cc – 1000cc Classic race, beating Freddie Stewart and Allan Brew.

In the Open Championship race it was Sheils who beat McGee and Dunlop to victory. The top three were separated by just over three seconds and it was Dunlop who set the fastest lap of the race on the fourth tour. Kenny was fourth ahead of Walsh, Brian McCormack, Elliott, Behan, Kennedy, and Maxwell. Following his win in the Supersport class, Dunlop doubled up by winning the Grand Final – his first ‘big bike’ victory since the Tandragee 100 for Tyco BMW.  It was a close fought affair as the top three – completed by McGee and Sheils – were separated by just six tenths of a second. McCormack was in fourth place 15 seconds down on the top three, with Walsh, Kenny, and Elliott who were fifth, sixth and seventh respectively. Behan came home in eighth ahead of Kennedy and Maxwell.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s