William Dunlop confirms 2016 plans

William Dunlop has confirmed his plans for the 2016 road racing season.

Following his split from Tyco BMW, Dunlop will further his partnership with Chris Dowd’s CD/IC Racing for the year ahead. He was a dominant force on the R6 Yamaha in the Supersport class this year, taking nine wins from nine races at the National road races. This included victories at Armoy, Cookstown, and Kells. He was the clear winner of the Irish and Ulster Supersport Championships as well as winning the Superbike class.

In a post on his website Dunlop said that 2015 had been a “difficult year” which featured accidents at the North West 200 and Isle of Man TT which compromised his running. “I had success nationally winning the Irish Championships on the Supersport and Superbike,” Dunlop wrote. “At the International road races there was a combination of bad luck and my own fault with a couple of crashes. One at the North West 200 where I fractured a handful of vertebrae in my back, [and] another a couple of weeks later on the last day of practice at the Isle of Man TT which ended that event for me. I was lucky just to break one rib and now I’m glad to see the winter time to get myself all good again for 2016.”

Dunlop will race in all classes for CD/IC Racing. “We are keeping the R6 built by Marcus [Eschenbacher] and his guys,” the Ballymoney man continued. “Chris has everything in place for them to build us a brand new R1. I can’t say how excited I am to be part of this and to have their involvement with the Superbike along with Graham Irvine for my suspension. If anyone has a chance to make this bike work on the roads it is this team. I’m looking forward to the challenge ahead in 2016 and also to enjoy my racing. I get on with everyone here and it feels like a second family to me.”

The team will reveal plans for the Superstock class  in “due course”.

Leave a Reply

