Jonathan Rea named Irish Motorcyclist of the Year

World Superbike Champion Jonathan Rea was last night named Irish Motorcyclist of the Year. He was presented with the Joey Dunlop Trophy for the third time at the annual Cornmarket Enkalon Motorbike Awards, having previously taken the honours at the 2007 and 2008 events.

The annual award ceremony took place at the Ramada Plaza in Belfast and brought together many high profile names in the world of motorcycle racing.

While Rea took the main award other Northern Irish riders were also successful. William Dunlop – who was unbeaten in the Supersport class in last year’s National road races – was named National Road Racer of the Year while Lee Johnston picked up an Outstanding Achievement Award for his work with F13k Cancer. British Superstock champion Josh Ellott was named Best Rider on UK and Irish Circuits with Andy Reid collecting the award for Race of the Year.

There were posthumous awards for Owen McNally – who was inducted into the Hall of Fame – and Dr John Hinds. Injured rider Jamie Hamilton presented an award to Dr Janet Acheson for the late Dr Hinds for his services to motorbike racing. Kevin Keyes was named Young Rider of the Year.

Elsewhere Sidecarcross duo Neil Campbell and Ross Graham received the UK Off Road Award while Motocross team Hitachi KTM UK won Team of the Year. Ian Hutchinson was awarded Internatonal Road Racer of the Year following his return to form this season, including three wins at the Isle of Man TT.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s