Farquhar, Kneen and Dunlop amongst Tandragee winners

Ryan Farquhar, Dan Kneen, and William Dunlop were amongst the winners at last weekend’s Tandragee 100.

Kneen – making his debut for Mar-Train racing – won the first race but subsequently received a 60 second penalty for a jump start. Derek Sheils was also penalised, dropping the duo down the order to tenth and eleventh respectively. This meant that Farquhar was named the winner with Dunlop second and Malachi Mitchell-Thomas continuing his Mid-Antrim form in third. The Mar-Train team has since launched an appeal against the penalty for  Kneen. Finishing thirteenth in the race was Gareth Keys, coming from the second group on his return to road racing following an accident at last year’s Spring Cup in Scarborough.

In the three lapper Junior Support race – which was red flagged and results declared – it was James Chawke winning ahead of Scott Miller and Warren Reeve. In the later Senior Support race Joe Newbould was the winner with Michael Weldon second and Paul Williams in third.

It was Mitchell-Thomas who led the early stages of the Supersport race but he had to settle for third in the end. Dunlop continued his strong form from last season to take his first win of the year on his CD/IC Racing Yamaha. Kneen was second ahead of the aforementioned Mitchell-Thomas. Michal Dokoupil finished a fine seventh on his Tandragee debut.

In the Classics Jamie O’Brien led home Mark Parrett and John Pemberton. Rhys Hardistry was the lead 250cc GP rider, finishing narrowly ahead of Davy Morgan who in turn was clear of Neil Kernohan. Anthony McColgan was victorious in the Forgotten Era class, besting Robert McCrum, Des Buttler and Gary Miller.

Sam Wilson won the 125cc class ahead of Adam McLean and Paul Robinson, with Dokoupil winning in Supersport 400s. He finished seven seconds clear of Seamus Elliott and Darryl Tweed. Farquhar was the lead rider of two in the 450cc class – Dave Walsh was the second.

For the final race of the day – the feature Around a Pound Tandragee 100 – Kneen put the disappointment of the first race behind him to win. He finished ahead of Sheils, who had also been penalised in race one. Mitchell-Thomas joined his BE Racing team-mate on the podium. Derek McGee finished the race in fourth ahead of Dunlop in fifth. Farquhar, Michael Sweeney, Paul Jordan, Morgan, and  Elliott rounded out the top ten finishers.

The next action on the Irish roads is this weekend’s Cookstown 100.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s