Dunlop and Sheils double up at Cookstown 100

William Dunlop and Derek Sheils were among the winners at this year’s Cookstown 100, with each rider picking up two wins apiece.

Dunlop continued his strong form in the Supersport class, winning both races on the schedule at Cookstown. In the Invitational he beat Mar-train’s Dan Kneen by nearly three seconds with Derek McGee finishing in third place. In the second race it was the same three riders on the podium but this time with McGee second.

Elsewhere Sheils was victorious in both Superbike races – including the feature Cookstown 100 race – comfortably beating his nearest rivals. In the first Superbike race he was over five seconds clear of McGee, with Malachi Mitchell-Thomas in third place. Mitchell-Thomas recovered from an earlier red flag causing off to hold off Dan Kneen. The two Cookstown BE Racing riders were on the podium again in the Cookstown 100, Sheils once again winning but this time with Mitchell-Thomas in second and Kneen third.

The Supertwin A race was won by Mitchell-Thomas who beat James Cowton and Michal Dokoupil. The top four riders – which included Paul Jordan – were covered by just over a second and a half. The B race saw Colin Bowles beat Robert Cairns and Tommy Heaphy.

In the Support classes James Chawke and Michael Brookes were the winners of the Junior A and B races respectively. John Horgan and Leon Murphy won the corresponding races in the Senior Support class. The first Superbike B race was won by Paul Gartland narrowly over Scott Campbell with Paul Williams winning the second leg. The Moto 3/125cc race was won by Jordan ahead of Adam McLean and Sam Wilson. Supersport B was won by Timothy Elwood.

The Junior Classic race was won by Barry Davidson with Richard Ford beating Jamie O’Brien in the Senior Classic. Seamus Elliott won the Lightweight 400/450cc & Forgotten Era race from Darryl Tweed and Dokoupil. In the second leg, which also included Supersport Non Qualifiers, Alistair Haworth won the Lightweight class from Veronika Hankocyova. Anthony McColgan and Gary Miller were the two finishers in the Forgotten Era class with Allan Brodie coming from the second group to win the Supersport Non Qualifiers race.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s