Michael Dunlop smashes lap record on way to Superbike win

Michael Dunlop continued his formidable form at the Isle of Man TT this week with a win in the Superbike race.

Unofficially breaking the lap record in practice, Dunlop signalled his intent by completing his first racing lap in under 17 minutes – a 16:58.439 and 133.393mph from a standing start! From then on nobody could touch the Ballymoney man as he romped to a victory that was over a minute faster than the record race time.

Ian Hutchinson had to settle for second place, nearly twenty seconds down on Dunlop, with John McGuinness completing the podium positions.

The TT’s fastest ever newcomer Peter Hickman was in fourth – his first race on the Superbike having raced the Superstock on his last two appearances – with Dean Harrison fifth and Michael Rutter sixth. David Johnson was a fine seventh on his debut with Norton, the team vastly improving on their performances in the past couple of years. Rounding out the top ten were an injured Bruce Anstey on the RCV213S, Gary Johnson and Lee Johnston.

Just outside the top 10 were James Hillier and Steve Mercer. The highest placed finisher from a rider who started outside the top 20 seeded riders was Dan Hegarty, who came home in 13th place having left in 21st place. Behind him came Horst Saiger with Ivan Lintin in 15th. The highest placed newcomer was Mike Booth who finished in 40th place.

Retirements from the race included local favourite Conor Cummins, Cameron Donald on his Wilson Craig Racing, and Davy Morgan.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s