Ian Hutchinson romps to seventh Supersport victory

Ian Hutchinson has won the first Supersport race of this year’s Isle of Man TT.

The Team Traction Control rider – who won both of the races in this class at last year’s event – took the lead from the get go and was untouchable for the four laps. Saturday’s Superbike winner Michael Dunlop came home in second place with Silicone Engineering’s Dean Harrison securing a third place after a positive qualifying week.

John McGuinness was once again the first rider away but Hutchinson was fastest on time to Glen Helen and eventually passed the Honda rider on the road. At the end of the first lap the order was Hutchinson, Dunlop, Harrison with James Hillier fourth and McGuinness fifth. Also in the top ten were Lee Johnston, Conor Cummins, Bruce Anstey, Gary Johnson and William Dunlop.

The gap at the front at the end of the first lap was about 11 second and this increased to 12.8 by the end of lap two, when riders entered the pit-lane. Harrison was maintaining third ahead of Cummins and Hillier.

By the end of lap three the gap at the front was down to 11.6 with Harrison still third. Steve Mercer and Dan Hegarty had entered the top ten. By the end of the fourth and final lap the gap was up to 14.3 seconds. Dunlop explained after the race that he had struggled with his bike and hoped to make some changes ahead of Wednesday’s race.

Hillier secured fourth place – his 40th TT finish – with Cummins fifth and McGuinness in sixth. Johnston finished in seventh place with William Dunlop eighth, Steve Mercer ninth and Gary Johnson tenth despite a lengthy pit-stop.

There were a number of retirements from the race including Peter Hickman and Michael Rutter early on. Anstey was a lap three retirement with Simon Fulton, Mark Parrett, Dan Cooper and Ivan Lintin also retiring.

Davy Morgan and Dave Madsen-Mygdal were two more retirements, having started their 60th and 130th TT races respectively.

The victory was Hutchinson’s 12th on the Island and also his seventh in the Supersport class – more than any other rider in the 600s.

Following the race, the ACU released the following statement:

ACU Events Ltd can confirm that two competitors have been disqualified from today’s Supersport Race 1 at the Isle of Man TT Races.

Michael Dunlop has been excluded from the results for a technical infringement identified during post race examination.

ACU Events Ltd do not believe that there was a deliberate attempt to gain an unfair advantage and no significant performance advantage was gained.

As a result of this disqualification, Dean Harrison moves up to second place with James Hillier now taking the final podium position.

In addition Rob Hodson, who finished 14th in the same race, has also been disqualified from the race having been found to have been running a significantly oversized engine.

As a result Hillier was promoted to third place and Cameron Donald finished in the top ten.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s