Ivan Lintin takes Lightweight victory at TT

Ivan Lintin has taken his second win at the Isle of Man TT with a victory in the Lightweight class.

The RC Express rider, who won the same race last year, raced to a 12 second victory over James Hillier. Hillier had initially led the race for the first lap and a half but eventually lost out.

Hillier was second away – behind Martin Jessopp – but it was Lintin with a narrow three tenths lead at Glen Helen. Hillier took the advantage at Ballaugh by four tenths and by the end of the first lap, the gap had grown to two seconds. It continued to rise until Ramsey on the second lap when Lintin gained back a second and a half. It was Lintin who led at the Bungalow and he did not look back.

After the pit-stops at the end of lap two Lintin’s advantage was eight seconds and this grew to 12 by the chequered flag. While the top two were having their own battle at the front, there was another fight going on for the third and final podium spot. Michael Rutter had initially held the position before retiring. Gary Johnson, Martin Jessopp and Stefano Bonetti were not separated by much time in third, fourth and fifth.

Johnson lost out in the pits with a slow stop, giving Jessopp an advantage into the third lap. Going into the pit stops Johnson had a two second lead over Jessopp with Bonetti just seven back on him. By the end of lap three Jessopp was three seconds clear in third and Johnson fell back to fourth just a couple of seconds ahead of Bonetti.

In the end Jessopp got the podium – his first at the TT – by just over two seconds from Johnson who had to settle for fourth. Bonetti took his best ever finish at the TT with a fine fifth – his previous best finish having been 12th – while Dan Cooper was sixth. Jamie Coward, Colin Stephenson, Bjorn Gunnarsson and James Cowton rounded out the top ten finishers. Cooper was still racing with the injuries sustained to his shoulders at the North West 200. For Cowton – who suffered a high speed crash during Monday’s racing – it was more than expected, as he suggested he would just complete a lap.

Just outside the top ten was Michal Dokoupil with Maria Costello twelfth and Barry Furber thirteenth. Darren James was the highest placed newcomer in 27th for Ryan Farquhar’s KMR team. Twelve of the top twenty finishers were unseeded riders.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s