Michael Dunlop crowned Solo champion at Southern 100

Following his record breaking form at this year’s Isle of Man TT, Michael Dunlop returned to the island and was crowned Solo champion at the Southern 100.

The BMW rider beat Dean Harrison in the Solo Championship race and also took victories in the Open race and the two Superbike races, enjoying a successful week at the Billown circuit.

In the Open race, Dunlop raced to a 12 second victory over Ivan Lintin with Dan Kneen finishing third on his return to racing. Jamie Coward and Dan Hegarty were fourth and fifth respectively, ahead of Alan Bonner, Ryan Kneen, Davy Morgan and Mark Parrett. James Cowton was the leading 600 rider home.

Darryl Tweed won the first 125/400cc race comfortably beating Dan Sayle in the process. Adrian Kershaw finished third ahead of Adam McLean, Mick Goodings and Paul Gartland. The second race in that class was won by Seamus Elliott while Tweed had to settle for second. Kershaw was third once again.

Dunlop showed he was the Superbike form man with two strong wins in the class. In the first race he beat Dan Kneen by over 25 seconds with Lintin coming home third. Elliott was fourth while Anthony Redmond finished fifth. The second race was red flagged following an incident involving Bonner. He thankfully escaped serious injury but suffered an injury to his hand. When the race restarted a number of riders opted not to take the start. Dunlop won, beating Ryan Kneen and Hegarty.

Bonner’s team-mate Lintin enjoyed success in both 250/650cc races. He beat Rob Hodson in the first with Rhys Hardistry – on a 250cc – in third. Lintin beat Cowton and Hodson in the second race.

Harrison won both Supersport races, beating Lintin by just 0.037 seconds in the first. Colin Stephenson finished third ahead of Cowton, Hodson, Brendan Fargher, and Tweed. McLean was eighth ahead of Jamie Williams and Brad Vicars. Harrison was victorious in the second race as well, this time by five seconds over Coward, Cowton, Lintin and Stephenson. The B race was won by Thomas Gottschalk with Dave Quirk second and James Hinchliffe third.

The Championship races were won by Dunlop and the Sidecar pairing of Tim Reeves and Patrick Farrance. Dunlop beat Harrison and Lintin in the Solo Championship race with Dan Kneen, Coward, Elliott, Hegarty, Davy Morgan, Parrett, and Redmond rounding out the top ten.

Reeves and Farrance won both Sidecar races. They beat Dave Molyneux & Dan Sayle and Ben Birchall & Tom Birchall in the first. The second race saw the Birchall partnership move up to second while TT winners John Holden & Andy Winkle finished in third.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s