John McGuinness claims Senior Classic TT win

No stranger to winning around the Isle of Man at the TT, John McGuinness has won his first Classic TT Senior race having retired from the race in the last three years.

He left from number one but initially lost out to Dean Harrison, who led by a tenth of a second by Ballaugh. The gap increased to three tenths at Ramsey before moving to over a second by the Bungalow. By the end of the lap McGuinness had closed the gap to just three tenths of a second. Maria Costello was running third, 51 seconds off second place.

On the second lap the gap fluctuated again, with Harrison increasing his lead at the start of the lap before losing out between Ramsey and the Bungalow. Harrison pitted at the end of the second lap while McGuinness continued and led by five seconds. Maria Costello remained in third place but also pitted at the end of the second lap.

At Glen Helen on the third lap McGuinness led by 58 seconds with 46 of those accounted for by Harrison’s pit stop. Alan Oversby had moved into third place. When McGuinness pitted at the end of the third lap the gap decreased to 21 seconds but Harrison was unable to close it further and it changed only by tenths at each section of the course.

McGuinness won with a best lap of 113.342mph on the Paton, beating Harrison on the MV Agusta and Costello on the Paton. Jamie Coward finished in fourth place with Oversby ending up fifth. Dominic Herbertson was sixth ahead of Danny Webb, Bill Swallow, Olie Linsdell and Horst Saiger.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s