Dean Harrison retains Gold Cup at Scarborough

Dean Harrison – the form man at Scarborough this year – has retained the Steve Henshaw Gold Cup at Oliver’s Mount having won it for the first time in 2015.

He took three victories at the Spring Cup back in April, adding seven more at the Cock o’the North event before also winning eight times at the Barry Sheene Festival.

At the Gold Cup Harrison took six victories for Silicone Engineering Racing including the feature race.

Ivan Lintin was first up on the winner’s list, beating Dan Kneen and Daley Mathison in the first leg of the Junior A race. Harrison took the victory in the second leg having been absent in the first. Mathison and Lintin were once again on the podium.

Lintin was also victorious in the Super Lightweight class and beat James Cowton and Adam McLean in the first leg. It was an identical podium for the second leg of the class. In the Lightweight class, Paul Owen and Joe Thompson were victorious in the two races respectively. Owen beat Alistair Haworth and Paul Gartland in the first race while Thompson was victorious over Owen and Haworth in race two.

It was Harrison leading the way in both Solo Open races. In the first he raced to a 3.4 second victory over Derek Sheils with Daniel Hegarty third. Michael Dunlop and John McGuinness were fourth and fifth respectively. In the second leg it was once again just over three seconds of an advantage for Harrison as he beat Lintin and Sheils.

This was backed up with two further victories for Harrison in the Senior class. Lintin and McGuinness joined him on the podium in race one while Sheils and Paul Gartland were second and third in race two.

Harrison then led start to finish in the Steve Henshaw Gold Cup race beating Lintin and Kneen. Mathison, McGuinness and Mick Goodings were fourth, fifth and sixth respectively with Mark Goodings seventh. Tom Weeden, Cowton, and Brian Greenfield rounded out the top ten finishers. Dunlop failed to finish the race.

Davy Morgan enjoyed a successful day with victories in both Solo B races and one of the Junior B races. In both Solo B races Morgan beat Jamie Williams and Gaz Evans. It was the same podium again in the first of two Junior B races. The second was won by Williams who beat Stephen Degnan and David McConnachy.

Tim Reeves and Patrick Farrance won all three F2 Sidecar races with Steve and Matty Ramsden second in all three. David Bell beat Peter Boast and Owen in the Superbike F1 race first leg, with Paul Coward moving up to third in race two.




Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s