Peter Hickman wins 50th running of Macau Motorcycle GP

Peter Hickman has won the 50th running of the motorcycle Macau Grand Prix. He was joined on the podium by Michael Rutter and Martin Jessopp.

Last year’s pole sitter and podium finisher Jessopp once again started from pole position, joined on the front row by eight time winner Rutter and newcomer Glenn Irwin.

Rutter took the lead off the line with Irwin slotting into second place behind him. Jessopp held third at the end of the first lap with 2015 winner Peter Hickman chasing him down in fourth. Jessopp moved up to second in the second lap ahead of Irwin. Hickman, Horst Saiger, Ian Hutchinson, Conor Cummins, Gary Johnson, Stuart Easton and newcomer Derek Sheils rounded out the top ten.

Hickman made his move on lap four up into third while the top four continued to circulate separated by just over a second and a half. Jessopp took the lead on lap seven but only held it for a couple of corners before Rutter reclaimed it. The battle between the top two allowed Hickman to close up with Irwin holding on to the back of him. The lead changed hands again on lap eight.

On lap 10 Jessopp dropped from first to fourth after Bathams team-mates Rutter and Hickman pulled off a double pass. Irwin then slipped through into a podium spot as well as it looked like Jessopp missed a gear. Hickman – the only rider in the top four to be running Dunlop tyres – then took over the lead from Rutter on the penultimate lap. Jessopp moved back to third as Irwin dropped right off the pace before pulling into the pits.

Hickman held onto the lead to win the race for a second year in a row. Eight time winner Rutter was second with Jessopp third. Cummins finished fourth ahead of Saiger, Easton, John McGuinness, Ian Hutchinson, Derek Sheils, and Dan Cooper. Dan Kneen recovered from the back of the field to finish 11th ahead of Didier Grams, Danny Webb, Sam West, and Mark Miller. Rounding out the top 20 finishers were Daniel Hegarty, Marek Cerveny, Allan-Jon Venter, Andre Pires and Michael Sweeney. Brian McCormack and Ben Wylie also finished.

Irwin, Johnson, Lintin and Davy Morgan all retired in the pits during the race.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s