Team UK retain International Challenge trophy at Phillip Island Classic

Team UK have once again won the International Challenge Classic, beating Team Australia by 11 points.

The Island Classic is now in its 24th year while the International Challenge has been part of the event since 2005. It features bikes manufactured between 1973 and 1984 and Team UK have been in the hot-seat since beating Australia for the first time in 2015.  Teams from the UK, Australia, New Zealand, America and new additions Ireland take part in a number of races with a number of different classes of bikes feature in the event including pre-war, Forgotten Era 250 & 350, and 500 Classic.

They are competing for the Ken Wootton Perpetual Trophy, the Phil Irving Perpetual Trophy, and the International Challenge. While the first two trophies are individual events, the last one is about riders accumulating points for their team.

It is the third successive year in which Team UK has beaten Australia, while new entrants Ireland came third. Team USA finished fourth with New Zealand fifth.

Jeremy McWilliams – an experienced rider for Team UK – won three of the four races which contribute to the International Challenge trophy. In the first race he was joined by Shawn Giles (Australia) and Peter Hickman (UK) on the podium. Race two saw Hickman finish second ahead of Jed Metcher of Australia. McWilliams and Hickman were first and second in race three also with Giles in third. The fourth and final race was won by Alex Phillis from Australia, beating McWilliams and Australia team-mate Steve Martin.

“Riders leave absolutely nothing in the tank at the International Challenge, and that’s what makes it so special to compete in and win,” McWilliams said of the event. “We are allowed to ride bikes on the limit by the owners, and it’s been an honour to represent the UK and get the job done again in 2017”.

McWilliams was joined in Team UK by Hickman, John McGuinness, Conor Cummins, James Hillier, and Glen Richards. Craig Ditchburn, Alex Sinclair, and Michael Neeves also featured on the entry list.

International Challenge Trophy

  1. United Kingdom – 651
  2. Australia – 640
  3. Ireland – 539
  4. USA – 357
  5. New Zealand – 323

 Ken Wootton Perpetual Trophy

  1. Jeremy McWilliams (UK) – 159
  2. Jed Metcher  (Aus) – 147
  3. Shawn Giles (Aus) – 147
  4. Paul Byrne (Ire) – 140
  5. Conor Cummins (UK) – 133

 Phil Irving Perpetual Trophy

  1. Murray Seabrook – 200
  2. Dean Ougtred – 173
  3. Lachlan Hill – 171
  4. Neil May – 170
  5. Peter Hinton – 168



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s