Dean Harrison dominates Spring Cup at Oliver’s Mount

Dean Harrison was the dominant rider at this year’s Bob Smith Spring Cup at Oliver’s Mount. He backed up his hat-trick at the corresponding event last year.

The Silicone Engineering rider took 7 victories over the weekend, including the feature Spring Cup race. Other race winners at the meeting included Ivan Lintin, James Cowton and Adrian Harrison.

Harrison’s first win of the day came in the Junior A race where he started from pole position and beat Daley Mathison by 5.6 seconds. Daniel Hegarty was third with Lintin fourth and Jamie Coward fifth. It was a family affair in the Junior class with Dean’s brother Adrian Harrison winning the B race. Owen Graves was second with Stephen Degnan in third. The Harrisons won the second legs of their respective races with an identical podium from race one in the A race. The second B race saw Jamie Harris and Lewis Bramwell finish second and third.

Lee Crawford and Steve Ramsden – along with their passengers – won two races apiece in the F2 Sidecars class. Crawford won the first race along with Patrick Farrance, with Conrad Harrison with Andy Winkle second, and Dean Lindley with Robert Bell third. The second race was won by Steve and Matty Ramsden with the podium finishers from race one joining them. Crawford won the third race with Jake Lowther as passenger, beating the Ramsden duo and Greg Lambert and Julie Canipa. The Ramsdens won the fourth and final race, beating Dave Wallis and Scott Hardie, and Harrison and Winkle.

There were two legs of the Super Lightweight class and these were won by James Cowton and Ivan Lintin. The first race in the class was won by Cowton who beat Barry Furber by over ten seconds. Darren Cooper, Barry Evans and Mark Purslow completed the top five. Lintin won the second leg beating Furber and Cooper by a very comfortable margin of over 20 seconds.

Harrison backed up his Junior race victories with two Open race wins. In the first leg of the A race he beat Hegarty and Lee Johnston, with Coward and Mathison finishing fourth and fifth respectively. It was the same top five in the second leg. Joe Thompson won both of the B races beating Julian Tillotson and Lewis Bramwell. In the second B race it was Bramwell in second and Harris third, with Craig Neve and Grant Gaskell fourth and fifth.

In the Senior races there were two more victories for Harrison and he was joined on the podium once again by Hegarty and Mathison. Johnston was fourth in both with Coward fifth in the first leg and Lintin fifth in the second leg. Guy Martin raced in the Senior race – having competed at Tandragee the previous day –  and he finished in 12th place.

Elsewhere in the Ultralightweight & Lightweight class, Ian Lougher and Justin Waring shared the spoils for the Ultralightweights while Thompson won both Lightweight. In the first race Lougher was joined on the Ultralightweight podium by Waring and Ian Stanford while Thompson beat Paul Owen and Alistair Haworth in the Lightweight class. In the second leg Waring moved ahead of Lougher with Stanford third. Thompson beat Phil Stead and Nicholas Anderson in the Lightweight class. David Bell, Peter Boast, and Michael Hand completed the podium for the first Classic Superbike & F2 race. Bell beat Craig Neve and Boast in the second leg.


Harrison wrapped up a successful meeting by winning the Spring Cup feature race, beating Hegarty and Johnston. Mathison, Coward, Lintin, Mick Goodings, and Cowton were fourth, fifth, sixth, seventh and eighth respectively. Tom Weeden and Mark Goodings rounded out the top ten.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s