Derek Sheils doubles up at Cookstown 100

Derek Sheils doubles up at Cookstown 100

Derek Sheils and Joesph Loughlin were both two time winners at this year’s Cookstown 100.

Over the course of Friday and Saturday there were 15 different winners from the 17 races held. It was a largely dry event, however some rain showers and a number of red flag incidents led to the schedule being re-jigged by race organisers about halfway through the day. They still managed to get the full programme completed.

Derek Sheils

Sheils’ two victories came in the Open A and Cookstown 100 A races. He started from pole position in the Open race and finished over two seconds clear of Derek McGee with William Dunlop in third. Michael Sweeney narrowly missed a podium position by just tenths of a second. Guy Martin finished a corrected time fifth place from the second group. Sheils’ upped his advantage for the Cookstown 100, beating McGee by 11 seconds while Sweeney put a last lap move on Dunlop to take the last podium spot. James Cowton rounded out the top five finishers.

In the Supersport class there were victories for Dunlop, Adam McLean and Brad Vicars. On Friday evening Dunlop beat McGee by just two tenths of a second in the Invitational race with McLean rounding out the podium finishers. Cowton and Sheils were fourth and fifth respectively. In the Supersport A race on Saturday it was a controlled victory for McLean – his first in the class on the roads. He held off stiff competition from the opposition to beat McGee and Cowton by just two and four tenths respectively. Dunlop was fourth with Sheils fifth. Supersport B was won by Vicars who beat Barry Evans and Dominic Herbertson. Again it was a close podium as the top three were separated by just half a second.

Cowton was the winner in the Supertwin A race with McGee and McLean picking up more podium finishes. Paul Gartland, Mark Dangerfield and Scott Miller completed the top three in the B race. The Moto 3/125 race saw Sam Wilson taking victory on the Joey’s Bar bike beating Paul Robinson and Justin Waring. Nigel Moore was the leading 125 rider, finishing fourth overall, while Gary Dunlop finished fifth on corrected time. The Ballymoney man had been on a charge but this was halted by a red flag – one of many throughout the day.

Joseph Loughlin backed up his Tandragee 100 victories with wins in the Junior and Senior Support classes. In Junior Support A he beat Oisin Watson by over 12 seconds while Jamie Williams finished in third. RJ Woolsey took a corrected time victory over Derek Wilkie and Ben Mullane in the Junior Support B race. Loughlin’s win in the Senior Support A race saw him beat Adam Lyon and David Howard. Senior Support B was won by Alan Johnston on Friday evening. Wilkie was second while Stephen Farrell finished in third place.

Darryl Tweed beat Seamus Elliott in the Supersport 400/Forgotten Era race, with Alistair Haworth in third. Robert Wilson was the victor in the Open B race beating Tweed and Dan Cooper. Cooper then went on to win the Cookstown 100 B race – the last of the meeting – beating Wilson from the third group on corrected time. Gartland was third. In the Classic races Barry Davidson took overall Junior Classic victory on his Honda 350 while Richard Ford was the leading 250 home. Robert McCrum was the winner in the Senior Classic race.

Riders on their way to the grid 

Next up on the roads is the first International event of the year – the North West 200.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s