The Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship (BTCC) is a touring car series held in the UK. There are 10 rounds with three races at each. The action takes place over two days (Saturday and Sunday) with qualifying for Race 1 happening on the Saturday. The cars line up on the grid for Race 1, on the Sunday, in the order that they qualified. The length of the race varies from circuit to circuit, varying from 12 laps to something in the early 20s. For Race 2 the grid is decided by the finishing order of Race 1 i.e. the winner starts on pole, second starts second, third starts third etc. For Race 3 a draw is made and whoever finished sixth, seventh, eighth, ninth and tenth has the possibility of being picked to start on pole. So, if for example eighth is picked, that driver would start on pole with seventh starting second, sixth starting third, fifth starting fourth etc. The rest of the drivers would then line up in the order they finished Race 2. It all sounds a bit complicated but it’s simple when you see it happen.

Points are awarded to the top fifteen: 20, 17, 15, 13, 11, 10, 9, 8, 7, 6, 5, 4, 3, 2, 1

ITV4 currently broadcast extensive coverage of the series with qualifying streamed live online on Saturday, and seven hours of coverage on the Sunday. They also show the support classes of the BTCC which are  Ginetta Juniors, Ginetta GT Supercup, Porsche Carrera Cup GB and the Renault Clio Cup.

Useful links

News and Info – BTCC :: Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship BTCC Crazy – British Touring Car Championship news, interviews, race reports and more

Brands Hatch 
Donington Park
Oulton Park


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s