Mark Webber: 200 GP and the magic formula

The upcoming Malaysia Grand Prix will see Mark Webber celebrate his 200th GP. Making his Formula One racing debut back in 2002, Webber has been on the grid for over a decade, as well as a further two years as test driver prior to getting a race seat. Here we take a look at the numbers which make up his ‘magic formula’ – the 200 GP.

11 full seasons

After spending 2000 and 2001 as test driver, Mark Webber moved to a race seat in 2002 for Minardi. 2013 sees him enter his 12th season as a Grand Prix driver. After Michael Schumacher’s retirement at the end of 2012, Webber is now the oldest driver on the grid and only behind Jenson Button and Fernando Alonso in terms of races started.

Six teams

Since his debut as test driver in 2000,  Webber has been with six teams. First he was a test driver for the Arrows team before doing the same job for Benetton in 2001. He made his racing debut in 2002 driving for Minardi before moving to Jaguar for 2003 and 2004. In 2005 and 2006 Webber drove for Williams, and in 2007 he moved to Red Bull Racing, where he still races today.

Nine team-mates

During his time in Formula One, Webber has had nine different team-mates while racing. At Minardi he partnered Alex Yoong, who was replaced by Anthony Davidson for two races. When he moved to Jaguar he had three team-mates during his two years there – Antonio Pizzonia, Justin Wilson and Christian Klein. Moving to Williams for 2005, Webber’s team-mate was Nick Heidfeld, and he also saw the brief return of former team-mate Pizzonia. For 2006 Webber was joined by rookie driver Nico Rosberg. When he moved to Red Bull for the 2007 he joined David Coulthard, and when he retired, Sebastian Vettel took his place and Webber and Vettel have been team-mates since 2009.

Nine wins

Webber has won nine times during his Formula One career, the first of these coming at the German Grand Prix in 2009. He went on to win the Brazilian Grand Prix that same year. The most races he has won in one season was four in 2010 when he won in Spain, Monaco, Great Britain and Hungary.

34 podiums

Over the course of his career, Webber has been on the podium 34 times, the first of which was at Monaco in 2005. Nine of these were race wins, 11 second places and 14 thirds, including a string of four in a row in 2011.

10 podiums in one year (2010 + 2011)

Ten is the most podiums Webber has ever had in one season and he achieved this in both 2010 and 2011. In 2010 he had four firsts, four seconds and two thirds while in 2011 he had one first, two seconds and seven thirds.

11 pole positions

Webber’s first pole position was at the 2009 German Grand Prix, which he went on to win. He took five in 2010, three in 2011 and two in 2012.

14 fastest laps

The Hungarian Grand Prix in 2009 was the location for Mark Webber’s first fastest lap of a race. He also set them at the Japanese and Brazilian Grand Prix of that year. He has taken 13 more since then.

64 point finishes (not podium)

Not including his 31 podiums, Webber has finished 64 of his 198 race starts in the points. If his podiums are included that’s a 47% point scoring rate. In 2011, Webber retired from just one race (the Italian Grand Prix). The rest he finished with an average finishing position of third place and therefore 15 points.

14 consecutive finishes in points (Brazil 2010 – Belgium 2011)

Webber currently lies sixth in the all time list for number of consecutive finishes in the points, with a total of 14. He completed this between the Brazilian Grand Prix in 2010 and the Belgium Grand Prix in 2011 (inclusive). The lowest position he finished in that time was eighth at the 2010 Abu Dhabi Grand Prix.

18 consecutive finishes (Singapore 2011 – Belgium 2012)

Following on from the previous record, Webber managed to finish 18 races consecutively, although not necessarily always in the points, between the 2011 Singapore Grand Prix and the 2012 Belgium Grand Prix (inclusive). Saying that, his only finish outside the points in this string of results was 11th at the Spanish Grand Prix, with the rest in the points.

So, there we have it – 11 full seasons + 6 teams + 9 team-mates + 9 wins + 34 podiums + 10 podiums in one year + 11 pole positions + 14 fastest laps + 64 non-podium points finishes + 14 consecutive finishes in points + 18 consecutive finishes = 200 GP this weekend at the Malaysia Grand Prix.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s